Food, Recipe Reviews, Tried & True Food

Easy Homemade Ketchup

I’ve been meaning to make this paleo, Whole 30 compliant ketchup from one of my favorite bloggers, Danielle Walker at Against All Grain, since it was posted a year ago, and now I’m kicking myself for not doing it earlier! My husband thinks I’ve gone off the deep end to be making my own ketchup now, but I really miss it and there aren’t many good options out there. In the U.S., I liked Sir Kensington’s Ketchup, but it is expensive and can be hard to find locally. Here in the U.K., the only option I’ve found for the kids is a “natural” Hunt’s brand. It’s better than the standard Hunt’s or Heinz, but the ingredients still aren’t what I’d like them to be, and it’s definitely not something I want to eat from a taste standpoint alone.

But THIS recipe is delicious! It tastes like a true gourmet ketchup, and even the kids like it (Gabi, who is used to a more florescent red ketchup than the deep red whole food color of the ketchup in front of her, looked at it and said, “Is this ketchup Mommy?” I assured her it was just a new ketchup and she dug in. No comment from Daniel. That’s a win!). It took me less than 10 minutes of work to make it, plus about 5 minutes to put it in containers. And it made enough to last for 4 to 6 months (frozen). Although at the rate I’ve been devouring it, I’ll be making it again in 3 months.

Below is a link to Danielle’s recipe and my personalized approach (a.k.a., the lazy version).

Paleo Ketchup from Danielle Walker of Against All Grain

Tips & Tricks

  • I did not soak the dates. The dates I buy locally are pretty soft, and the burgers were already cooking and I didn’t feel like waiting. I threw all of the ingredients directly into the Blendtec, hit the smoothie button twice, and it was perfectly smooth. My dates were big so I used 12.
  • I used Bragg Organic Raw Apple Cider Vinegar. I like the taste better and prefer apple cider vinegar over white in food always.
  • I only simmered for about 15 minutes because, like I said, the burgers were already done. Make sure you put a lid on the pot–trust me.
  • I used 1/2 tsp of garlic powder instead of a garlic clove. Lazy.
  • I omitted the onion because of my tummy troubles (FODMAPs), but that’s a personal choice.
  • I was skeptical of the clove and allspice but it is such a small amount you don’t really notice it other than the delicious overall flavor.
  • I put some in a container in the fridge and the rest in Ball Mason 4oz Jars for the freezer. It made a ton. With 3 cups of tomato puree, that’s going to happen. I really think it will last for 4 months or more before I have to make another batch.
  • I have always loved mixing ketchup with mayo. I use the Primal Kitchens mayo, which is most affordable on Thrive Market but I get it from OneStopPaleoShop since Thrive  doesn’t deliver to APO.
 Let me know if you have any questions or if you try it!
 

Leave a comment